PyngMe

PyngMe


PyngMe uses your phone's GPS to allow your trusted contacts to easily know where you are...any time...without the necessity of a "Where are you?" text or call.

Friends and family can Pyng you any time THEY want to know where you are, rather than the burden being on YOU to send your location to them, as with other apps. With permission control settings, choose to automatically allow Pyngs from trusted contacts, so that they can see your live location without you needing to lift a finger. For other contacts, respond with is a simple "Yes" or "No" each time they Pyng you.

You can be Pynged from a web browser on ANY type of device, whether a computer, tablet, or smartphone. That's right - once you install PyngMe on your phone, inform friends of your unique webpage address (ex: http://pyng.me/Emily, then they can Pyng you using a web browser on any type of device. You gotta try this!

More info:
https://pyng.me/faq.html
https://pyng.me/howitworks.html
Please submit questions, comments, and feature requests to our Facebook page (Pyng.Me App) or by emailing [email protected] We'll get back to ya.

TO PYNG someone: you need to log into Facebook.
TO BY PYNGED by someone: you need to 1) have the app installed on your phone, 2) enable Location Services (Settings > Location services > Enable both Wireless Networks and GPS Satellites), and 3) give them permission to Pyng you.

WAYS TO USE PYNG.ME

Family & Friends
- Check on a friend's location
- Family members can easily find each other
- Find my phone

Drivers
- Safer than texting while driving
- A quick way to show your ETA

Athletes
- While you train allow friends to locate you without disturbing you
- Show friends your live location on race day
- Friends can locate you even when your route changes

WHAT MAKES PYNG.ME SPECIAL?

• Other apps track your location constantly. This wastes battery and data. PyngMe tracks you only when you approve a Pyng, and only when a contact is actively viewing your location (usually no more than 1 minute).

• Other apps require each person to have the app before it is useful. With PyngMe, only the person being Pynged needs to have the app. Friends & family can Pyng from any web browser.

REGISTRATION AND USE

Register with your Facebook account and pick a unique PyngMe ID. Your ID then becomes your unique PyngMe webpage: http://pyng.me/YOURNAME that friends and family can use to pyng you. pyng'ing you is a request which appears on your phone as a notification. You will need to respond to the request in order for them to see where you are.

CONTROL YOUR PERMISSIONS
On the Contacts page, set each contact to:
1) "allow" - automatically allow their Pyngs, or
2) "ask" - the app will ask for your permission each time they attempt to Pyng, or
3) "block" - all Pyng attempts from this contact will be blocked

The default setting for each contact is "ask". For highly trusted contacts we suggest the "allow" setting so that they can see your location at any time without you needing to lift a finger. If you want to be completely un-Pyngable for a while, simply check the "Block Viewing" box under Settings.

BATTERY SAVING:
PyngMe does not keep your location services running unless a contact is actively Pynging you. When they stop viewing your location, the app automatically stops broadcasting your location. This conserves battery and data usage.

DATA USAGE:
Each Pyng uses a small amount of data if your phone is not on Wifi.

Recent changes:
Major improvements in Version 1.3:
- Tutorial added
- International functionality
- Option to receive push notifications
- No longer uses SMS
Add to list
Free
85
4.3
User ratings
17
Installs
500+
Concerns
2
File size
1495 kb
Screenshots
Screenshot of PyngMe Screenshot of PyngMe Screenshot of PyngMe Screenshot of PyngMe Screenshot of PyngMe Screenshot of PyngMe

About PyngMe
PyngMe uses your phone's GPS to allow your trusted contacts to easily know where you are...any time...without the necessity of a "Where are you?" text or call.

Friends and family can Pyng you any time THEY want to know where you are, rather than the burden being on YOU to send your location to them, as with other apps. With permission control settings, choose to automatically allow Pyngs from trusted contacts, so that they can see your live location without you needing to lift a finger. For other contacts, respond with is a simple "Yes" or "No" each time they Pyng you.

You can be Pynged from a web browser on ANY type of device, whether a computer, tablet, or smartphone. That's right - once you install PyngMe on your phone, inform friends of your unique webpage address (ex: http://pyng.me/Emily, then they can Pyng you using a web browser on any type of device. You gotta try this!

More info:
https://pyng.me/faq.html
https://pyng.me/howitworks.html
Please submit questions, comments, and feature requests to our Facebook page (Pyng.Me App) or by emailing [email protected] We'll get back to ya.

TO PYNG someone: you need to log into Facebook.
TO BY PYNGED by someone: you need to 1) have the app installed on your phone, 2) enable Location Services (Settings > Location services > Enable both Wireless Networks and GPS Satellites), and 3) give them permission to Pyng you.

WAYS TO USE PYNG.ME

Family & Friends
- Check on a friend's location
- Family members can easily find each other
- Find my phone

Drivers
- Safer than texting while driving
- A quick way to show your ETA

Athletes
- While you train allow friends to locate you without disturbing you
- Show friends your live location on race day
- Friends can locate you even when your route changes

WHAT MAKES PYNG.ME SPECIAL?

• Other apps track your location constantly. This wastes battery and data. PyngMe tracks you only when you approve a Pyng, and only when a contact is actively viewing your location (usually no more than 1 minute).

• Other apps require each person to have the app before it is useful. With PyngMe, only the person being Pynged needs to have the app. Friends & family can Pyng from any web browser.

REGISTRATION AND USE

Register with your Facebook account and pick a unique PyngMe ID. Your ID then becomes your unique PyngMe webpage: http://pyng.me/YOURNAME that friends and family can use to pyng you. pyng'ing you is a request which appears on your phone as a notification. You will need to respond to the request in order for them to see where you are.

CONTROL YOUR PERMISSIONS
On the Contacts page, set each contact to:
1) "allow" - automatically allow their Pyngs, or
2) "ask" - the app will ask for your permission each time they attempt to Pyng, or
3) "block" - all Pyng attempts from this contact will be blocked

The default setting for each contact is "ask". For highly trusted contacts we suggest the "allow" setting so that they can see your location at any time without you needing to lift a finger. If you want to be completely un-Pyngable for a while, simply check the "Block Viewing" box under Settings.

BATTERY SAVING:
PyngMe does not keep your location services running unless a contact is actively Pynging you. When they stop viewing your location, the app automatically stops broadcasting your location. This conserves battery and data usage.

DATA USAGE:
Each Pyng uses a small amount of data if your phone is not on Wifi.

Recent changes:
Major improvements in Version 1.3:
- Tutorial added
- International functionality
- Option to receive push notifications
- No longer uses SMS

Visit Website
User reviews of PyngMe
Write the first review for this app!
Android Market Comments
A Google User
May 22, 2014
Great app but bad update Since the very last update this app has not been working. Please fix! Samsung Galaxy Note II
A Google User
Mar 19, 2014
K K
A Google User
Feb 9, 2014
Functions internationally I like using pyngme to check whether my housemate is at home and to see how close my buddy is to arriving when we meet weekly to shoot hoops. Also cool that I can pyng friends in Malaysia and Indonesia just for fun.
A Google User
Jan 10, 2014
This works perfect!!!!!!
A Google User
Sep 2, 2013
Good idea but why Facebook only?? I personally don't have FB account and don't want to get one. Why not letting people use their Google account? Don't think it would be such a security concern as everyone use G account with Android here. Also SMS notification would be good to have as an option. For those people who use battery saving apps because they basically keep 3G data connection disabled and reenable it periodically so location update request could be delayed. SMS, on the other hand, delivers at the first possible chance.